Anyone there?

It’s been a while… my garden blog The Random Gardener has been a bit more active, though not much! There really hasn’t been a lot of rattie news, they have just been getting on with life, and I have been dealing with other things. My foot surgery went well and I’m now pretty much back to normal – we managed with the cage cleaning, though the first time we had to do a full clean I was exhausted afterwards. I didn’t get to do any Past Rats posts for you, as you’ll have noticed… In truth I was only off sick from work for five days and after that I worked from home for a few weeks.

You may remember I’ve mentioned the Heart of England Rat Club in the past – well sadly the show on 18th June (which I couldn’t get to) was our last show. The committee decided to wind up the club as we were not getting the attendance and interest from members. Most of the others were already involved with the National Fancy Rat Society so I have re-joined (I was briefly a member about 10 or 12 years ago) and will be going to some of their shows from time to time, so may well report back.

The hot weather hasn’t really done any of us any favours, but the rats have survived with the aid of ice cubes, frozen fruit, a fan on a timer, and the ever-faithful granite blocks. Things should start to settle down again now. We had a terrific thunderstorm yesterday and while I was wandering around looking out of windows and trying to get pictures of black clouds I also took a few of the rats. Drumknott was pretty cross with me for waking him up (and for the lack of food):

SONY DSC

“Dis fud bol empty. U tryin to starv me. I hate u.”

Lias couldn’t even be bothered to get out of bed.

SONY DSC

“Nope.”

Better luck next time.

This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anyone there?

  1. ramblingratz says:

    By heck Drumknott is a handsome fella when roused πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful photos. Sorry to hear about the winding up of the club but hope you enjoy the NFRS.

Leave a Reply

