And this is why we can’t have nice things

Rats chew stuff. It’s what they’re designed to do. I’m not complaining, unless it’s me they decide to chew on. So when we buy things to put in their cages, we can’t expect them to keep everything in a pristine condition.

From time to time I buy hammocks of various sorts for my lot. Sometimes I make hammocks, but every so often it’s nice to buy something far better than I could make. In any case, as the carpal tunnel syndrome gets worse and I can’t justify buying a sewing machine, it gets harder and harder to make anything myself. I always hope that the bought hammocks will survive,and to be fair they do seem to last a few years, but I thought I’d show you the remains of one of the first ones I bought.

This started life five years ago as a large cube with two entrances. It’s been a comfy bed and chew toy for many of our girls since then. From some angles it still looks ok, though with a few more air-holes. It was starting to look a little shabby before the arrival of Pinch and Bitesize, but those two have been the end of it. The grey fleece is where I’ve tried to patch it up and make it last a little longer, but it was shredded in no time.

Sad, isn’t it?

It has now reached the stage where there is so little surviving of the base that it’s useless – and even if I try repairing the base again, it’ll be ripped apart again the first time it’s used. Eventually you just have to let things go.

This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And this is why we can’t have nice things

  1. I feel your pain. Mine have never been too bad about their hammocks, thankfully, but tv remotes are definite targets. The other day while doing laundry I lost my head and let myself be interrupted, absentmindedly laying my clean, fave pajama bottoms on top of the boys cage. I was only gone a couple of minutes. When I returned, well, the carnage was immediately noticeable. A huge hole in both legs. I’m not talking dime-size either. I don’t know how they managed it so fast. You’d think they were made of steak.

    • ownedbyrats says:

      I once went out wearing a favourite fleece jacket, unaware that one of my little darlings had shredded the front. Didn’t realise until I got home and saw a big pile of blue fleece in one corner of the cage.

  2. caineflower says:

    Oh, I know this feeling. Rats (at least mine) seem to require everything to have multiple entrances and exits. The latest victim to the ongoing chewfest was my laptop power cord. I’ve given up on trying to keep rat stuff hole free, I just focus on my stuff staying that way now. 😀

Leave a Reply

